Smartlead vs Apollo
Smartlead starts at $32/mo and Apollo at $49/user/mo on annual billing — but send caps, contact caps, mailbox limits and per-seat pricing decide the real bill. See it costed below.
Costed for three setups
| Setup | Smartlead | Apollo | Cheaper |
|---|---|---|---|
| Solo founder · 1 user, 3 mailboxes, 5,000 emails/mo | $32/mo Base | $79/mo Professional | Smartlead |
| Solo founder · 1 user, 3 mailboxes, 5,000 emails/mo (monthly billing) | $39/mo Base | $99/mo Professional | Smartlead |
| Small team · 3 users, 10 mailboxes, 30,000 emails/mo | $78/mo Pro | $237/mo Professional | Smartlead |
| Small team · 3 users, 10 mailboxes, 30,000 emails/mo (monthly billing) | $94/mo Pro | $297/mo Professional | Smartlead |
| Agency · 5 users, 50 mailboxes, 150,000 emails/mo | $144/mo Unlimited Smart | $395/mo Professional | Smartlead |
| Agency · 5 users, 50 mailboxes, 150,000 emails/mo (monthly billing) | $174/mo Unlimited Smart | $495/mo Professional | Smartlead |
At a glance
| Feature | Smartlead | Apollo |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing unit | Flat per account | Per seat |
| Watch out for | Mailbox/email-account limits are not stated on the plan cards. | Free and Basic allow 1 mailbox per user and 250 sends per day. |
| Cheapest paid (annual) | $32/mo | $49/user/mo |
| Cheapest paid (monthly) | $39/mo | $65/user/mo |
| Entry plan includes | Base: flat · users Not listed · mailboxes Not listed | Basic: per user · mailboxes 1 per user |
| Forever free | No | Yes |
| Trial | Not listed | 14 days |
| Add-ons | Add-ons: CRM/call access $59/mo on Base and Pro; SmartSenders mailboxes from $3.99–$9/mailbox/mo plus $13–$19/domain/yr. | Advanced Dialer add-on $149/team/mo ($119 yearly). |
All plans
Smartlead
| Plan | Mo | Yr/mo | Limits |
|---|---|---|---|
| Base | $39 | $32 | flat · Not listed accounts · 6,000 emails · 2,000 contacts |
| Pro | $94 | $78 | flat · Not listed accounts · 90,000 emails · 30,000 contacts |
| Unlimited Smart | $174 | $144 | flat · Not listed accounts · 150,000 emails · unlimited contacts |
| Unlimited Prime | $379 | $315 | flat · Not listed accounts · 500,000 emails · unlimited contacts |
Apollo
| Plan | Mo | Yr/mo | Limits |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | $0 | per user · 1 per user accounts · 250/day per user emails · Not listed contacts |
| Basic | $65 | $49 | per user · 1 per user accounts · 250/day per user emails · Not listed contacts |
| Professional | $99 | $79 | per user · unlimited accounts · unlimited emails · Not listed contacts |
| Organization | — | $119 | per user · unlimited accounts · unlimited emails · Not listed contacts |
Gotchas
Smartlead
- Mailbox/email-account limits are not stated on the plan cards.
- CRM and calling are a $59/mo add-on on Base and Pro.
- Yearly billing saves 17% ($32 vs $39 on Base).
Apollo
- Free and Basic allow 1 mailbox per user and 250 sends per day.
- Organization needs 3 seats minimum on annual billing.
- Every seat on an account must be on the same plan.
FAQ
Is Smartlead cheaper than Apollo?
For 3 users, 10 mailboxes, 30,000 emails/mo, 10,000 contacts, annual billing on paid plans: Smartlead $78/mo on Pro vs Apollo $237/mo on Professional. The answer flips with mailboxes, send volume, contacts and seats — use the calculator on the cold email hub for your exact setup.
How are Smartlead and Apollo priced?
Smartlead: Flat per account. Apollo: Per seat.
Do Smartlead and Apollo have a free plan or trial?
Smartlead: “Start Free Trial” (length Not listed); the page also advertises 50% off the first month. Apollo: Free plan: $0 with 2 sequences and 1 mailbox per user (250 sends/day); 14-day trial on Basic and Professional.